The Slim Framework support forum has moved to http://discourse.slimframework.com. This Tender forum is no longer maintained or monitored.

Login/Logout with redirect

sakaye87

09 Aug, 2012 07:00 PM

I have a login/logout function for my web app. I'm trying to figure out how to allow the user to login or logout and redirect them back to the same page they were viewing before that. How would I go about doing that? I am new to web programming so an example would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Bryun

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Brian Nesbitt on 10 Aug, 2012 03:09 AM

The most common case for this is when you have a secure area and the user hits a page that requires login and you want to direct them to login and back to that page. All you have to do is before the redirect on the login check save the request url in the session or flash and upon successful login see if that exists and redirect them to that url, otherwise to your default logged in user page.

If you can login/logout from any page (public or private) it becomes a little tougher since they can be on any page and click login. This can be solved using a client side or server side solution.

Server side... Persist the request URI in a flash or session variable all the time so whenever they login or logout you can check the page they came from. This adds additional overhead for all requests when most of the time it won't actually be used.
    Client side... when login or logout is clicked use javascript to capture the current url and submit it along with the url as part of the querystring. Upon successful login/logout direct them to the url. If the login requires reloads on errors then persist in via flash or session. This saves having to persist it on the server with each request.

If you provide which type you are attempting to build I can probably whip up something quick as an example.

2. 2 Posted by sakaye87 on 10 Aug, 2012 05:51 PM