The Slim Framework support forum has moved to http://discourse.slimframework.com. This Tender forum is no longer maintained or monitored.

Integrate Slim into already working AJAX Livesearch

J.

07 Aug, 2012 10:04 AM

Hey folks,

I am just starting out with REST APIs and need some advice.

Over the last couple of weeks I coded an AJAX Livesearch in form of a dictionary. The data is stored in several tables within a MSSQL Database. The user has the possibility to search GER --> ENG, ENG --> GER and to suggest new translations, etc.

Now all this is working just fine and I thought about expanding this project. I want to be able to search for translations via URL, so that means using a REST API if I understood everything correctly.
My problem is that I don't have a clue on how to include Slim into my livesearch.... I tried the hello World Tutorial and included an extra <?php ?> section in my index.php, however, after loading my localhost (using XAMPP for local testing) it just showed some messed up version of my original homepage with the livesearch (the formatting was all messed up) and in the "background" there was an 404 message, supposedly from Slim.

Here's a general overview of my index.php:

It starts with a <?php ?> section, which inhabits a function for the submission of new translations.
Followed by declaring the head of the html and some other general stuff.
Followed by a huge
Finally a huge section of HTML codes for all the elements of the homepage and especially the livesearch searchbox and result window(s).

In addition to the index.php there are also about 10 other .php files for the database search, etc.

I hope you get the picture, otherwise just tell me and I try to get some code snippets in here.