The Slim Framework support forum has moved to http://discourse.slimframework.com. This Tender forum is no longer maintained or monitored.

Grab the route as a variable and use in a Twig template

James

15 Apr, 2012 12:02 PM

Hi all

First of all, thanks for a great framework. First caveat, I'm not a professional coder, but have a technical background, so I am trying to pickup a framework and decided upon Slim as I had some (non-professional) PHP experience. I have been through the net-tuts tutorial which is all working fine and have now started to build my mini-web-app. The web app has a currency conversion aspect to it and the database has essentially got a row with a date and the exchange rate, USD, EUR, GBP etc

I have setup a route called like so: $app->get(‘/(:currency1)/(:currency2)/(:amount)’, function() use ($app) which then calls a database record and I can display the rows and the columns as needed. However, I would like to use the currency1, currency2 and amount in the template itself i.e. reference {{ data.currency2 }} to dynamically grab the right column name from the whole row depending on the route that was called – is this possible?

Thanks in advance

1. 1 Posted by mauro.pizzamigl... on 17 Apr, 2012 06:26 AM

hello James

both currency and amount can be parameters of the closure

$app->get('(:currency1)/(:currency2)/(:amount)'), function($currency1, $currency2, $amount) { ... });

be careful, as long as you declare currencyN as optional you would consider to give a default value like:

function ($currency1 = DEF1, $currency2 = DEF2, $amount = DEFA)

finally, i think you are using Twig as template engine, so, having both currency in the closure you can pass it to twig like

$data['currency1'] = $currency1; $data['currency2'] = $currency2; $data['amount'] = $amount; $app->render(TEMPLATE, $data);

Finally number 2